Our Award Schedule

Our Awards programme helps to supports the next creative generation, by providing sponsored places in one of our creative business incubators. Currently, we run three rounds of awards each year. The schedule for 2015 is:

Awards Round One

Announced: November 2014
Deadline: February 2015
Start date: April 2015

Awards Round Two

Announced: May 2015
Deadline: July 2015
Start date: September 2015

Awards Round Three

Announced: August 2015
Deadline: October 2015
Start date: January 2016


Awards Currently Open:

Cockpit Arts / The Clothworkers’ Foundation Awards 2015

Open to graduates within the last five years, these awards aim to assist weavers to set up in business by providing studio space and business support provided by Cockpit Arts as well as shared use of looms. The selection panel looks for individuals who demonstrate entrepreneurial spirit as well as creative excellence and craft skills. The Awards include space in a shared studio equipped with Leclerc and Louet looms and a number of other benefits. In 2012, the award winners were Laura AdburghamSoukaina Aziz El IdrissiTeresa GeorgallisCatarina RiccabonaNadia-Anne Ricketts and Cassandra Smith. The 2013 award winner was Lisa Bloomer. The 2014 award winners were, Emma Calvert, Calum Clarke, Beatrice Larkin, Aisha I Qazi and Josefin Tissingh.

Deadline: 12 noon, Monday 18 May 
Application Pack: Please email dana@cockpitarts.com

Call For Entires (.pdf)

Awards and Benefactors Include:

The Cockpit Arts / Leathersellers’ Award 2015

 Now closed for entries. These Awards are generously sponsored by The Leathersellers’ Company Charitable Fund. The prestigious Cockpit Arts / Leathersellers’ Awards are intended for talented designer-makers who are seeking business development support to take their creative business to the next level. This year we are able to offer up to six awards. In return for a place at Cockpit Arts, the winners will be required to develop new work where leather is a major constituent. Previous award winners include Laura Amstein (2012) and Benjamin John Hall (2013). The 2014 award winners are Georgina BrettBen ElbelBenjamin John Hall, Maria McLean and Mark Tallowin.

Cockpit Arts / NADFAS Award 2014

Now closed for entries. This annual Award is supported by The National Association of Decorative & Fine Arts Societies (NADFAS) and supports a designer-maker practising a traditional craft requiring skills at risk of dying out. Past recipients include Alex Potter (2013), Shaun Grace (2012), Alex Bishop (2010), Tobye Le Vaillant (2009), Tamasyn Gambell (2008) and Thomas von Nordheim (2007). Since 2012, the Award has been organised in conjunction with the Heritage Crafts Association. The 2014 award winner was Sarah Kelly.

Cockpit Arts / Haberdashers’ Awards 2014

Haberdashers logoNow closed for entries. Applications are invited for the Cockpit Arts / The Haberdashers’ Awards which aim to assist designer-makers working in knit to set up in business by providing studio space and business support provided by Cockpit Arts. These new Awards are generously supported by The Haberdashers’ Company, with additional support from The Framework Knitters’ Company. The 2014 winners are Carlo Volpi and Claireanne O’Brien.

Chelsea @ Cockpit Award 2014

CharlotteDay_5 x 150Now closed for entries. This award is specifically aimed at BA and MA textile graduates of Chelsea College of Art and Design who graduated in either June 2012 or June 2013 and is part of a commitment by UAL/Chelsea College of Art and Design to assist graduates with their professional career. The Award is receiving additional support from the Wyseliot Charitable Trust. Winners of the 2013 Award were Matt Jacques and Reeve Massey. The winner in 2014 is Petite Albion.

Cockpit Arts / Clear Insurance Award 2013

clearInsuranceLogoNow closed for entries. Applications are invited for this new award which aims to support designer-makers with ambitions to sell overseas. Clear Insurance continue to show their commitment to supporting creative businesses, having run The Clear Insurance Scheme for Craft Workers & Designer-makers since November 2002. The scheme has proved enormously beneficial to the UK craft community by providing an affordable insurance package tailored specifically to the needs of designer-makers. Winner of the 2012 Award was Ros Miller and Victoria Coleman received a special Commendation prize. Sara Gunn is the winner for 2013.

The Cockpit Arts / Worshipful Company of Turners Award 2013

Now closed for entries. This Award supported by the Worshipful Company of Turners aims to help an aspiring or established turner i.e. someone who practices the art and craft of turning on a lathe in wood or other materials. In 2011 a joint Award was made to Eleanor Lakelin and Frank Boggis Rolfe. Winner of the 2012 Award was Chloe Robertson and this year’s winner is Matthew Corbishley.

The Cockpit Arts Setting Up Bursaries 2013

Now closed for entries. We understand it can be difficult for designer-makers at the start of their career to make the leap from working from home to taking a place at Cockpit Arts. We’ve therefore developed a number of Bursaries that will specifically assist designer makers who have set up in business in the last three years. Bursaries will be made to selected applicants who demonstrate entrepreneurial spirit as well as creative excellence and craft skill and who are seeking support to take their business to the next level. The Bursaries contribute towards a place at Cockpit for one year and include studio space, business development support, selling events and promotional opportunities. Each Bursary is worth up to £2,000 against the cost of the Cockpit Arts incubator package, with the remaining £2,000 fee being provided by the Bursary winners, payable on a monthly basis.

The 2013 Bursary Winners are Charlotte Day, Sanni Falkenberg, Annabelle Hastings, Bonnie Kirkwood, Sophie Manners, Omeima Madawi-RowlingsPurnima PatelJosie Shenoy, Maud Traon and Emma Yeo.

The Cockpit Arts Award

This annual award worth £4,000 aims to provide the space and time for an established designer-maker to significantly grow their business, increase their profitability and develop their profile. The winner of this award in 2010 was James Lethbridge. The winner of this award in 2011 was ceramicist Billy Lloyd.